Jo’burg, unhinged

27 Jan

I’m going to use this post to tout a new documentary on Johannesburg that I just learnt about today – “Unhinged: Surviving Jo’burg” (subtitle: “a black documentary”) which is coming out sometime this year. I loved the promo, which you can view here:

You can also visit their website and / or become a fan of their Facebook page.

I’d like to see two things on their site though: some background on the people producing the show (company, funding, organization etc etc) and a more concrete release date. The release date will help drum up hype in my opinion, and as a journalist I’m inclined to be curious about authorship.  The promo looks great although I think the text against the black background runs for a bit too long – second I wondered (somewhat irrationally) if the whole video was going to be text with dramatic sound effects! Love the aspect of spoken poetry in the narration (very well written.) It’s shot and cut incredibly well and has a nice tongue-in-cheek aspect. I’m a fan already and look forward to seeing the whole thing. The doc looks like it will explore both the good and the bad elements of Johanesburg which, as followers of this blog may know, I am a huge fan of doing.

Props to the makers, would love to learn more about you!

Thoughts, comments anyone?

4 Responses to “Jo’burg, unhinged”

  1. Paul Farah January 30, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Hi Jackie

    Thanks so much for putting this piece on your website. It is great to see people spread the word and helping us out. It seems as though you have a few questions…..feel free too ask
    Thanks again

    Paul

  2. Lukas February 25, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    no more posts? You cannot tell me that there is nothing going on in NY?

  3. Adrian January 6, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    Hi there Jackie,

    my name is Adrian. I’ve been directing the documentary Unhinged: Surviving Joburg. It’s my first film and has been a bit of a crazy learning process. I’m happy to say that it will be finished within the month though, thank goodness. The final product will be a 52 minute film and then we move on to the next step: trying to get it out there and hopefully even making a sale or two. We’ve got a 2 minute trailer now, which you can check out at http://vimeo.com/6869293

    Cool, let me know if you’d like a copy of the finished film and I’ll send you one.

    All the best.

    Adrian.

    • jax January 25, 2010 at 12:15 am #

      Hi Adrian,

      I replied via your gmail address asking for a copy of the film. Did you get my reply? Jackie

Leave a Reply

