vintage vogue

12 Oct
A chance encounter with the monolithic NY Times office building, near Times Square

A chance encounter with the monolithic NY Times office building, near Times Square

It’s taken me a while to figure out why I am in such a funk of late – the inability to stay on top of things, the crazy dreams and the constant tiredness that have kept me less obsessively organised than normal. I finally have the answer.

I live in an hospital.

A few days ago, someone down at I-House facilities decided, for some truly obscure, unknown reason, to replace and /or turn up the lights on each floor, so that the beamed wattage is now three times as much as it was before.

These lights remain on most of the day, and all night. The discovery of our new lighting system was made at 3am when I stumbled out of bed, expecting to walk into the usually dim-lit floor and emerged into a modern day mental asylum. The only thing worse than experiencing this kind of brightness at 3am, is having someone else walk down the corridor and seeing you experience it – the light so harsh that your sleepiness and state of distress are monstrously magnified.

We’re currently running a petition to request that they turn the lights down. It just won’t do gosh darnit!

So right now, I’m blaming I-House on the funk, but I suspect this may just be an easy target. After weeks of running ragged, the stress of constant deadlines, assignments, internship applications, rewrites and other miscellanous things might be getting a bit too much. I might just be on the edge, and not the one Wits gave me either. My primary response? Shopping at Target! Walking around Target is like an addiction for me. I am going to need someone to help me soon. My second response, perhaps more sensibly is the gym, which I am trying to visit more often. It’s a great place, except when Chicago is being played on TV and you get so involved in the musical numbers that you realise you’ve spent 45 minutes on the treadmill and you can no longer feel your feet.

Last weekend saw my joyous baptism into the vintage stores of Manhattan, and I am forever changed. Mat, Laura, Jeremy and I spent a beautiful afternoon at St. Mark’s Place and the surrounding East Village streets browsing through a couple of vintage stores and having a huge amount of fun. Laura scored the most points: a vintage Armani jacket for only $20, and a equally well-priced DKNY full length coat. Definitely something to do again in the coming months – the area is filled with the most amazing shops and people, the vintage stores offer true bargains (for the discerning and curious eye) and it’s one of the most fun activities to do with great pals (including Mat, who would be gay if he wasn’t straight.)

If you need more reassurance as to how fashionable J-schoolers can be, then look no further than website du jour, Greg Wears Skinny Jeans, run by fabulous fellow J-schooler Claire Moses. She tracks the daily wardrobe whims of faux-Brit journalism student Greg, who can do no fashion-wrong in Claire’s eyes. It really has become something of an addiction for me to read this site a few times a week.

(Did I just admit that publicly? Eek!)

After vintage shopping, I headed over to a gathering of African I-House students (of whom there are quite a few!) It was a wonderful night with incredibly food (sadly, they couldn’t find maize to make pap … ) and I got to meet Nacia (the girl on my lap), who I will be tutoring for the next few months. It was great to get to know all the other African students, and really helped to cure my dose of homesickness, as did getting Jelly Tots from me mom (transmitted through a friend of my dad’s visiting in NY.) Silly, the things that you need from home.

Elections are drawing near and chaos is reigning in the financial markets. My friend Luis and I will be off to Scranton, Pennysylvania in two weeks, to do some election coverage from the swing state for the class website. That should be interesting. In the meantime, it’s a story on preventive respite care in Crown Heights, a feature on financial literacy for kids, a freelance article for a mag back home, more agony over the feasbility of my Master’s Project …

and in between this, hopefully a chance to walk around Central Park just to help me stop FREAKING OUT!!

Thanks to everyone who commented last week. When I see you all again, it’s a box of smarties on me. Except for Alex, who is just too ridiculous to deserve a box of Smarties.

Much love from a frantic New York, Jax

5 Responses to “vintage vogue”

  1. Tumi October 12, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    Hey
    I am so glad you are taking time out and enjoying New York. I feel like I am experiencing New York through your experiences. It has been great reading your blogs and though I never leave any comments, I have read every single one. I especially love this one with the vintage store. Goodness knows I would have loved the vintage shopping experience.

    Love
    Tumi

  2. Tara October 13, 2008 at 1:44 am #

    hey jax,
    sorry i missed you on skype. new york sounds fun if a little stressful. Give central park a wave for me.
    tara xxx

  3. MOM October 13, 2008 at 6:52 am #

    I loved the slide show!

  4. anton October 14, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    Hi Jax,you are having a great time I see .Perhaps you should keep a diary of leading events and produce a book some time in the future called “something shock” .There is enough going on in the USA/ NY to keep a reader happy with your sense of humour and choice of words.
    love acb

  5. Delphin October 17, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    Hiya Jax!!! i LOVE reading your blog…but i always get so incredibly jealous and weep over my keyboard so i can’t leave a comment. but today i’ve managed to overcome my green-eyed monster (even though the bit about vintage shops and Armani for $20 made me wanna jump out the window!!). i’m so happy that things are going so well for you, my new hobby is to live vicariously thru u!!! dxx

Leave a Reply

