speediest post EVER

25 Jul
Carina, me, Helga at the Museum of Natural History in South Kensington

Carina, me, Helga at the Museum of Natural History in South Kensington

HELLLOO everzone from Zurich airport. I have exactlz 13:59 (58, 57, 56) to write this post, but I thought I better write something before we disappear to the Black Forest for the weekend (oh WHAT a life). Plus, this is on a German keyboard – I am reaching way back into my brain to remember where all the keys are, so forgive the mistakes!

I have decided that Zurich airport is absolutely heaven. It is one of the best airports in the world to cater for in-transit travellers. Just took a wonderful shower in the airport showers (shampoo, body lotion, towels and hairdryer provided!) and am pretty hanging around waiting for my mom to arrive from Speicher. Then we meet my dad and continue the journey to Germany.

The last 48 hours have been quite hectic … had the most fantastic braai with Hanneli, Stuart and Clint in their house in Tooting, which is such a beautiful home! It was great to catch up with them and see how life is. Then also had the chance to meet my German Literature compatriots Carina (at the British Museum) and Helga (with Carina again at the Natural History Museum). Luckily the weather in London has been fantastic over the past week, so I really did come at the right time. Last night Felix and I went to a private party at the Old Bank of England Pub on Fleet Street (situated over the graves of Sweeney Todd’s victims and next door to his misteress’s pie shop!)

Butterflies at an exhibition at the Museum of Natural History

Butterflies at an exhibition at the Museum of Natural History

The party was to celebrate the posting of one of his Reuters colleagues to Baghdad. Felix himself leaves for Brussels, Paris, and Amsterdam in September. Craziness!

I hopped on a taxi to Heathrow at 4am this morning, spent the whole ride talking to the taxi driver, an intellectual from Bangladesh who had a lot to say about the media, and landed – absolutely exhausted – in Zurich about an hour ago.

Have to meet the mum now and spend some quality time arguing with my dad about the size of the bag, and the shame it will bring on my family in the eyes of the Swiss and German families, who pack extremely economically. Oh well!

I am going to try, in the remaining 5 minutes, to upload some pics. Wish me luck! Miss everyone so much.

Hann, Clint and Stu in their Tooting abode - I was the first Saffer to visit!

Hann, Clint and Stu in their Tooting abode - I was the first Saffer to visit!

Leave a Reply

