the most dangerous place in london

22 Jul

Oxford Street. Bring your bodyguard. Or your mace. Or your canvas painting from Michelle to ward off would-be muggers.

After a somewhat traumatic trip on Sunday evening (babies, crying, tight spaces, uppity air hostesses etc etc) i arrived in London yesterday morning to be greeted by my friend Felix, a brilliant, future-Pulitzer prize winning journalist who works for Reuters and has NO commitment issues at all, no siree!

Well i can’t say I’ve done anything really touristy (we’ve walked along the Thames at least! I’m not too interested in the touristy stuff anyway, just want to spend time with friends), Felix did manage to introduce me to the most dangerous place in London today.


And no, it’s not the part of Canada Water we visited that Felix describes as “more African than the Jo’burg CBD”. Actually, the most dangerous part of London is situated a short distance from the tube entrance on Oxford Street, and it’s a department store. A deparment store called PRIMARK.

Felix says I look like I "own" Oxford Street in this picture. I think I just look like I left my sunglasses in his flat.

The easiest way to describe Primark is that it’s quite a bit like Mr Price back in SA, except with better clothes and bigger crowds. Crushes of Londoners and various tourists flock to this department store to pick up trendy t-shirts for 2 pounds and packs of socks for a pound. Dresses on sale for 5 pounds and trenchcoats for a mere 15. It’s the scariest place on earth!

The wealthy while their hours away in Selfridges, which we also visited (a scarily ugly Diane von Furstenburg dress for 120 pounds anyone? A Chanel wallet that costs more than 6 months worth of groceries? I felt like I was spending money just LOOKING at the clothes, never mind buying anything). It was impossible to spend more than an hour on Oxford Street, which is absolutely packed with people and can get quite claustrophobic.

Felix and I on the tube

Felix and I on the tube

London is a really interesting place – an “all sorts” sort of place as I like to think of it, where there are almost as many foreign accents on the bus as there are British. There are so many diverse cultures and personalities, tons of mixed families and as many really odd people walking around. It’s fun to be here, but I don’t think I could ever live here. So many people seem so unhappy! it might be a different story if you’re living within a community (of friends, family, work colleagues), but without that I think I would be quite lost, and quite miserable.

Anyway, I’m very glad to be here … Now I’m going off to meet Stu at a place called All Bar One to have a drink (just one, I can’t afford more!) and then to visit the West End and walk around a bit. It will be nice to find out how he’s doing over here. Having a great time and miss home already. Some more pics below for your amusement!

I really have no idea.

What would London be without sokkie sokkie?

Felix kindly cooks me up a storm!

Felix kindly cooks me up a storm!

The view from Felix's flat - at 10pm in the evening!

5 Responses to “the most dangerous place in london”

  1. Tara July 22, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    Great post, Jax, it made me smile, and I’m glad to see you’re in London safely (well, sort of, despite Felix).
    Send my love to him too and travel safely to the Big Apple (look forward to seeing your pics from there too).
    Take care,
    Tara

  2. yesbuts July 22, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    You “walked along the Thames” – great trick being able to walk on water. 🙂

    And your watch is fast – that shot was taken before 10pm.(its now 9:35pm and the sun has already set) my guess 8:30 ~ 9:00 ish.

    I really hope you have a nice stay – enjoy. 🙂

  3. Ben July 22, 2008 at 11:06 pm #

    Hey Jax,
    Glad you made it to London! Did not know you had a blog and kinda followed the link from Facebook. Have a great time, strangely I love London and it’s crazyness,

    Ben

  4. jax July 23, 2008 at 12:27 am #

    damn … still on south african time, we’re an hour ahead! but thank you for pointing that out (not sure who you are though?!) will duly change my watch, something that might come in handy in the near future…!

  5. LYN, LUIS, JESSICA AND JUSTINE July 24, 2008 at 7:06 pm #

    Well Well. You are already famous! We look forward to lots more interesting news and photos. At least this way you don’t seem so far away! Have fun and behave!

Leave a Reply

