The shame… the shame!

31 Aug

Linkage to my blog by Vincent Maher may be sending a few curious visitors my way…

I briefly considered hiding under the duvet covers and returning only once I had redeemed myself by posting something incredibly witty and brilliant (shoddy writing reminiscent of primary school days a thing of the past), but have decided to hold my head up high and post now instead!

I am a journalism student and this blog was started last night during an online journalism class. It is going to be running as a class exercise where I will be posting my portfolio, class work, my CV etc. At the moment it is the most basic of blogs and slightly embarrassing in comparison to others (*cough Vincent cough*) but it will improve in time!

Have faith and please continue to visit. I might just get graded on web traffic and that would be awesome!

Jax

3 Responses to “The shame… the shame!”

  1. Grant August 31, 2007 at 10:36 am #

    Hi Jackie,

    Do not be ashamed at all. Whilst I don’t agree with some of the points in your previous post, I have to commend you in the manner in which you have handled the response.

    Also don’t make any excuses as to the look and feel of your blog and don’t for one minute start comparing it to others. Remember many of these guys do this for a living and as a student your first effort is more than commendable. In fact I work in the industry and have one of the ugliest/basic blogs around.

    Well done, I think you rock!

  2. Vincent Maher August 31, 2007 at 6:30 pm #

    Jackie, I agree with Grant – don’t fret, everyone knows what it’s like to bang out a quick essay/report that isn’t exactly sterling.

  3. Claire September 20, 2007 at 7:19 pm #

    hey jackie, thought i’d leave my two cents, i think that if you want your blog to be about living in jhb then you should write more stuff about actually living in jhb! like, i don’t know, everyday things that you wouldn’t see on other sites. what is it like driving around, getting lost, going grocery shopping, being moaned at by your digsmate to switch the lights off 🙂 you know what i mean? i would read that.

Leave a Reply

